Day 1 of Fitness Plan

Well, today was supposed to be my Day 1 of the Couch to 5K programKrista and I had planned to meet at the YMCA on her side of town.  And then this crazy blizzard happened.  They really should make the start of the calendar year a little later so that those of us who would like to incorporate specific exercise into our New Year’s Non-Resolutions can do so.

But there I go, blaming anything or anyone other than myself.  I suppose I could try to find a free or inexpensive indoor track on this side of town.  Any suggestions?  (“This side of town” meaning the east side of Columbus, Ohio.)

So here is Day 1 of my fitness journal:

  • Woke up at 8:30 AM (Not off to a great start — I didn’t fall asleep until after 2:00 AM, with the television on and everything.  Bad Mel!  No cookie.)  Felt EXHAUSTED and pretty hungry.  Weighed in at 108.2 pounds.
  • Ate breakfast at 9:25 AM: 3/4 cup Lucky Charms cereal with 1/2 cup of 2 percent milk; felt not quite satisfied
  • Drank 8 oz. water with 2 ice cubes (who knows how much that translates to when it melts, and does it matter?); felt satisfied
  • Hungry again by 9:50 AM; ate a snack at 10:35 AM: 1/2 of a 100-calorie package of Cheez-its and 1/2 of a 90-calorie package of Quaker Mini Delights (Chocolatey Drizzle flavor — 1/2 of each because I had to share with my son; we had like no food in the house); felt satisfied
  • Drank 8 oz. water with 2 ice cubes; felt unsatisfied again
  • Went to Kroger feeling hungry and bought 1 gallon of whole milk, 1/2 gallon of chocolate milk, 24 oz. cottage cheese, 1 dozen large eggs, 2 lbs grape tomatoes, 4 Braeburn apples, 1 Haas avocado, creamy peanut butter, 1 loaf of whole wheat bread
  • Proceeded to shop at both Kohl’s and Kroger, feed my son, put him down for a nap, and take care of a few chores, ignoring my hunger
  • STARVING by 2:10 PM when my son falls asleep and I’ve microwaved my lunch: 1 large bowl of cheese ravioli and some kind of tortellini with alfredo sauce; felt satisfied and kinda sleepy
  • Drank 8 oz. water; felt really full — almost uncomfortably so, but feeling gradually faded to satisfied throughout afternoon
  • Saw that someone had cut up some Triple Crème Baby Brie and had a few pieces because it looked good.  No, I wasn’t hungry.  It was tasty, though.
  • Ate dinner at roughly 5:30 or so (forgot to check what time it was when we sat down): whole wheat spaghetti and beef/bean/tomato/cilantro chili; felt mostly satisfied
  • Drank 2 oz. of water before I knocked over my water bottle and spilled the rest; felt satisfied (at least hunger-wise, not so much with my gracefulness)
  • Remembered the chocolate milk I bought; drank 8 oz.; felt a little thirsty and pretty tired

Some thoughts and observations:

  • Except for where I noted, I forgot how tired I was.  This seems to be pretty usual for me.
  • I tried to eat about a serving-size worth of food so I could keep track of what I’m eating and how much.  In some cases, I didn’t know what a serving was of a particular food, and in the case of lunch today, I didn’t care.  I was starving out of my mind and had to eat a LOT of food, NOW.
  • I realize I violated the unwritten rule of not grocery shopping while hungry, but at least I bought (for the most part) healthy food, and a lot of it was produce.
  • I tend to get distracted when I’m hungry, if something else needs done, especially where my son is concerned.  Before parenthood, I would eat breakfast first thing in the morning upon waking up, or at least right after I weighed in if I was tracking my health that closely.  Notice that today I didn’t eat until about an hour after waking, even though I was pretty hungry at 8:30 this morning.
  • I did pretty well with resisting processed foods and treats once I bought some healthy snacks, even though I didn’t eat any of the produce I bought.  Maybe just knowing the healthy snacks were there if I wanted them was enough to avoid binging on sweets.  That, and we’re almost out of Christmas cookies.
  • I did snack on the Brie and the chocolate milk.  Maybe I need a few treats during my day to keep me on track for the most part.  And there are certainly worse snacks.  Another idea is to gradually wean myself of eating junk — might stick better that way.
  • I consumed way more sodium than I was aware of.  This should be less of a problem as I read more labels and buy more whole foods.
  • I am a little hungry again.  I think I’ll go have an apple.

I did track my calories and other Nutrition Facts where I could, for anyone who is interested (I included the apple I’m about to eat):

  • Calories: 985
  • Calories from fat: 288
  • Fat: 31.5 g
  • Saturated fat: 13.25 g
  • Trans fat: 0 g
  • Cholesterol: 82.5 mg
  • Sodium: 1499.5 mg
  • Carbohydrates: 168 g
  • Fiber: 15 g
  • Sugar: 74.5 g
  • Protein: 55.5 g

Obviously I didn’t count all my calories.  I did not have information for the ravioli or tortellini, as they were leftovers from dinner a few nights ago (though I did have it for the alfredo sauce — damn, it had a lot of sodium!), or most of the chili (1 lb of ground beef [not sure how lean], can of tomatoes, fresh organic cilantro — but I included the information for the pasta and the can of pinto beans [the beans also had a lot of sodium]).  I have no idea how many extra calories that adds up to.  I’ll try to be more precise tomorrow, if I can.

Good luck to the rest of you attempting a healthier lifestyle this year!

2 Comments

Filed under Goals

2 responses to “Day 1 of Fitness Plan

  1. I guess my newyear resolution went down the drain before it started….will try to restart asap

Leave a Reply

